An unborn child was enjoying life in his mother’s womb. One day God spoke to the child and said, “YOu will have to leave here.” The child said to God, “Why would I want to leave here? I am safe and warm and I hear my mother’s heartbeat. Nothing could be better than this.”

So God said, “If you do not leave here, you’ll never see the blue in your mother’s eyes or feel the wind on your face, or know the pleasure of the smell of freshly baked bread, or experience the beauty of roses or a golden sunset?”

The child replied, “What is blue, or wind, or bread, or a sunset? I don’t understand why you are talking about, and I don’t want to leave.” So God said, “But you can’t stay here. You’ll have to leave no matter how much you wish to stay.”

So the child said, “Will it hurt?” And because God is honest, He replied, “Yes, possibly more than you ever hurt in your entire existence.” And the child said, “Then I won’t go.” So God said, “But you’ll have to. That’s just the way it is. Trust me.”

The day came for the child to be born, and the child felt unbelievable pain and pressure. And the child said to God, “The pain is too great! I thought you loved me! How could you let me suffer like this?” And God said, “Trust Me. Hold on to Me.”

A few moments later, the child was born into a whole new world. He saw the blue in his mother’s eyes and experienced smells and feelings that he had never imagined. So he said, “God, Why didn’t you tell me it would be this wonderful?” And God replied, “I tried. You just couldn’t understand.”

There comes a day when God says, “You will have to leave this place.” And we say, “Why? I love my family and friends. I love the distant mountain peaks, the rolling sea, and the wind in my face. I don’t want to leave.” So God says, “But you have to. That’s just the way it is.” So we ask, “Will it hurt?” And because He is honest, God says, “Yes, possibly more than you have ever experienced. But hold on and all will be well.”

The day comes, and the pain is intense, and we say, “The pain is too great! I thought you loved me. How could you let me suffer like this?” And God says, “Trust Me. Hold on to Me.”

And a few moments later, we are born into a whole new world–a world full of beauty and love and without tears or pain or death. So we say, “God, why didn’t you tell me it would be this wonderful?” And God replies, “I tried. You just couldn’t understand.”

–adapted from Bill Watkins

